Te Uru Waitakere Contemporary Gallery Incorporated is a registered charity responsible for the governance of Te Uru. Our Charities Commission registration number is CC41215.

Our Patron is Sir Bob Harvey.

The current Te Uru Governance Committee were confirmed at the 2020 AGM.

  • Chairperson - Alison Booth

Dr Alison Booth is currently an independent researcher and a research affiliate at the Centre for Global Migration at the University of Otago, specialising in cultural representation, India diaspora and global community events. She is a teaching and research specialist in ethnography, festivalisation, social sustainability cultural representation of diasporic communities, event management theory and event production practices. She recently retired from an academic career at AUT and is a member of the Society of Ethnomusicology, New Zealand Asian Studies Society, International Association of Popular Music and the New Zealand Indian Research Institute. Her PhD, Performance Networks: Indian Cultural production in Aotearoa, (University of Otago) explores the processes and relationships that support the production of cultural events, with specific reference to events that are of interest to or produced by New Zealand's Indian communities. Alison holds a Masters in Creative and Performing Arts with honours from the University of Auckland, specialising in Arts Management, with primarily a world music performance and event production focus. Alison was co-opted to the committee in May 2017, elected at the 2017 AGM, has been Acting Chair since 2018 and Chair since 2019.

  • Secretary –  Elizabeth Turner

Dr Elizabeth Turner lives in Titirangi and is an independent researcher affiliated to Auckland University of Technology, where she worked for 24 years as a Senior Lecturer in the Faculty of Society and Culture. With teaching and research expertise across disciplines at AUT in the fields of applied linguistics, academic literacies, academic and research writing and cultural studies, she continues to provide writing advice for academic colleagues and postgraduate students at the university. Elizabeth's PhD research drew on the work of Mikhail Bakhtin, who viewed utterances as ethical acts and meaning as dependent on social and cultural context. Her doctoral thesis contributes to knowledge in the fields of cultural studies, popular music studies and Bakhtin studies; it explores the construction of social commentary, protest and resistance in the discourse of New Zealand band Herbs’ first album, What’s Be Happen? Elizabeth was invited to join the committee in 2020 and became Secretary at the 2020 AGM.

  • Treasurer - Steve Tollestrup

Steve Tollestrup has lived in West Auckland since 1985 and has served the community through the local Resident’s Association, Auckland Council Waitakere Ranges Local Board and Waitakere Licensing Trust. Steve is the Director of Ploughshare Consulting, a specialist consultancy focused on the Not for Profit and community sector that offers advice in planning, governance, fundraising, promotion, organisational development, and executive mentoring. Steve has a strong commitment to supporting the arts as critical to community well-being and development. He attended art school in the United States and throughout his life has pursued an interest in the global art scene. Steve was invited to join the committee in 2020 and became Treasurer at the 2020 AGM.

  • Elected member - Mark Harvey

Mark Harvey is a Titirangi based artist, specialising in a range of contemporary practices, including but not limited to performance and video. He has presented work extensively nationally and internationally including the 55th Venice Biennale and the New Zealand Festival of the Arts at City Gallery Wellington. He is a Senior Lecturer in Creative Arts and Industries at The University of Auckland and holds a PhD from AUT’s School of Art and Design. Mark was an Ecomatters board member (2013-2019) and he helps to co-organise the local conservation group, Waima Laingholm Pest Free. Mark Harvey joined the committee in August 2018 and was endorsed at the 2018 AGM. He was elected at the 2019 AGM.

  • Elected member - Charlotte Graham

Charlotte Graham, of M?ori descent, identifies with Ngti Mahuta, Ngi Tai ki Tmaki, Ngti Whanaunga, Ngti Poa and Ngti Tamaoho. Her art practice draws on her Mori heritage to explore critical issues that affect New Zealand society such as racism, cultural stereotyping and land rights, particularly the controversial foreshore and seabed legislation. Graham graduated with a Bachelor of Mori Visual Art from Massey University, studying under Robert Jahnke, Shane Cotton and Kura Te Waru Rewiri. After completing her bachelors in visual art, Graham trained as a teacher and worked at secondary schools in Auckland, including M?ori boarding school St Stephens, while continuing to make art, and has since contributed to many solo and group exhibitions. She believes that the foreshore and seabed controversy was the issue that gave her the political drive as an artist. Charlotte Graham was endorsed as a committee member at the 2019 AGM. She was elected at the 2021 AGM.

  • Ex-officio member - Chris Harvey

Chris Harvey, a former general manager of Crown Lynn, set up his own ceramic factory 23 years ago. Studio Ceramics in Glen Eden, set out primarily making hand painted dinner sets and then began to provide a New Zealand-made alternative to the flood of imported souvenirs. His kiwiana designs and ceramic tiki, kete, fern fronds and shell bowls sell in mainstream homeware chains as well as gift shops and souvenir outlets. Chris retired from the committee due to ill health but still has an acting interest in the well-being of the Gallery. He was made a Committee Member Emeritus at the 2013 AGM.

  • Ex-officio member - Andrew Clifford

Te Uru Director, Andrew Clifford, attends governance meetings in an ex-officio capacity to report on Te Uru's operations - he joined the organisation in November 2013. He was previously Curator and Acting Director at the University of Auckland's Centre for Art Studies, where he helped manage the university's Gus Fisher Gallery and art collection. Also with a long-standing practice as a freelance writer, his research interests span the worlds of contemporary art, performance, new media and music, and he has contributed many articles to publications throughout the Asia-Pacific region. Essays have been printed in publications about Billy Apple, Lisa Reihana, Len Lye, Sean Kerr, Reuben Paterson, and a chapter on invented instruments for Home, Land and Sea: Situating Music in Aotearoa. Alongside his writing, from 2002-2007 he produced music programmes for Radio New Zealand, preceded by 10 years producing and presenting a variety of shows for 95bFM. He has been a judge for the Wallace Art Awards, a juror for the Walters Prize and has sat on various other selection panels. He is also a trustee for the Len Lye Foundation and CIRCUIT.