Walking about:
Jeremy Leatinu’u, Kawea

Kawea is a project by Jeremy Leatinu’u that invites participants to traverse the urbanscape of Ōwairaka. The journey will begin at the base of the mountain of Ōwairaka before travelling towards the waters of the Waitematā and arriving at the Waterview reserve. People participating in the walk are asked to bring a small object of importance which will be wrapped and carried during the journey. The name of the walk itself, Kawea, translates as to take or to carry.

Walking about is a series of performative and participatory walks that travel across Auckland with Te Hau ā Uru – the West Wind. More information on can be found on the Walking about website.

Saturday 2 November, 12noon
Meet at the Summit Drive entrance to Ōwairaka mountain. 

Share

 

About Walking project page
 
Walks:

Pīta Turei: Mata ke ao
Sunday 22 September, 5:45am

Jeremy Leatinu’u: Kawea
Saturday 2 November, 12noon

Christina Houghton: Wayfinding Waikumete
Saturday 23 November, 4.10pm

 

val smith: queer walk-nap
Saturday 15 February, 6.30am - Sunday 16 February, 11.30pm

 

Suzanne Cowan and Rodney Bell: The hauntology of inheritance
Saturday 29 February, 2pm

 

Andrew McMillan: Echo Eco Echo
Wednesday 18 March - Wednesday 22 April

 

Vanessa Crofskey: Sports day
Online on Saturday 4 April, 12-4pm

 

Melissa Laing: Standing at the edge
Online from Saturday 11 April, watch-party at 4pm

 

Walking about in fog by Layne Waerea and Lana Lopesi
6 June - 5 July

 

Becca Wood: The public stand
21 June, 3pm
12 September, afternoon

 

Pīta Turei: Rangi Matariki
14 July, 6am

 

Christina Houghton: Wayfinding Waikumete (pt II)
10 October, 11am

 

Jeremy Leatinu’u: Mauria
31 October, 12 noon

 

Richard Orjis: cruising, lazing, leaning
21 November, 9pm