Portage Ceramic Awards 2003

It is with considerable pleasure that Lopdell House Gallery, in association with the Portage Trust, present the Portage Ceramic Awards 2003. The award is now in its third year and is fast becoming a highlight of the annual arts calendar. This year’s judge, Australian ceramicist Julie Bartholomew, is a widely known and esteemed practitioner and academic, who aims to fuse ceramic tradition with new technologies, generating an ever evolving voice to ceramic practice.

Premier Award
Penny Ericson: Six Days in a Southern Landscape

Merit Award
Ann Verdcourt: Play

Waitakere City Artist Award
Susannah Bridges: Lithophane Landscapes

Emergent Artist Award
Amanda Shanley: Shanley

Portage Ceramic Awards 2003 finalists: Graham Ambrose, Ande Barrett-Hegan, Adrienne Bolton, Tony Bond, Susannah Bridges, Peter Collis, Madeleine Child & Philip Jarvis, Penny Ericson, Kirsty Gardiner, Marilyn Golding, Campbell Hegan, Aidan Howse, Paul Laird, John Lawrence, Simon Leong, Paul Maseyk, Royce McGlashen, Nicola McLaren, Mark Mitchell, Jeffie Mulder, Onlie Ong, Ilsa Posmyk, Robert Rapson, John Roy, Rick Rudd, Amanda Shanley, Duncan Shearer, Janet Smith, Kate Springford, Toby Stafford, Ann Verdcourt, Chris Weaver, Alex Whyte, Helen Yau.

17 October - 23 November 2003

(Click to enlarge)