Portage Ceramic Awards 2004

This year the Portage Ceramic Awards have seen artists from a  broad range of backgrounds and locations, and present a wide and disparate range of styles, techniques and compositions. This years judge, Patsy Hely, is a practicing artist and University lecturer based in Canberra, Australia. Her initial ceramic training was at East Sydney Technical College, and she also holds a MA from Southern Cross University. At present she holds the positions of Honours Coordinator and Ceramics Distance Diploma Online Coordinator at the ANU School of Art where she is also completing a PhD. She has exhibited widely since 1979 and her work is represented in many public and private collections including the Australian National Gallery and the Powerhouse Museum.

Premier Award
Raewyn Atkinson: Cape Evans II

Merit Award
John Roy: Man with Burden

Waitakere City Artist Award
Danny Rowlandson: Untitled

Emergent Artist Award
Aya Sato: Without You Knowing Anything About It

Portage Ceramic Awards 2004 finalists: Brendan Adams, Raewyn Atkinson, Ande Barrett-Hegan, Owen Bartlett, Renee Boyd, Madeleine Child, Philip Jarvis, Ted Dutch, John Ecuyer, Murray Gibbs, Katie Gold, John Green, Rebecca Harris, Rhonda Anne Jameson, Nicky Jolly, Cheryl Lucas, Anna McCreath Munro, Royce McGlashen, Jeffie Mulder, Kiya Vicki Nancarrow, Robert Rapson, John Roy, Rick Rudd, Danny Rowlandson, Aya Sato, Amanda Dorothy Shanley, Joanna Soster, Kate Springford, Boyd Taylor, Ann Verdcourt, Ezmic Waller, Helen Yau

This exhibition was generously sponsored by The Trusts.

15 October - 05 December 2004

(Click to enlarge)