Portage Ceramic Awards 2008

Lopdell House Gallery is pleased to announce that Grace Cochrane is this year’s judge for New Zealand’s leading ceramic awards for 2008. Born in New Zealand, she has a background in art and education, is now an independent curator and writer, and until late 2005 Grace Cochrane was the senior curator of Australian decorative arts and design at the Powerhouse Museum, Sydney. From a strong field of 170 entries, Grace has selected 50 outstanding finalists.

Premier Award
Matt McLean: Scaled Heights

Merit Awards
Madeleine Child: Gorse Getting Away
Phillipa Durkin: Shore Party
Tim Holman: Of an Age
Michael Michaels: Cycladic Heads – Still Life
Richard Parker: Vase – China Longtime Dreaming
Helen Yau: Water Logic

The John Green Waitakere Artist Award
Sang Sool Shim & Keum Sun Lee: Winter Garden

Portage Ceramic Awards 2008 finalists: Brendan Adams, Greg Barron, Phillip Bonham, Renee Boyd, Susannah Bridges, Rachel Carter, Madeleine Child, Jon Clarke, Peter Collis, Bronwynne Cornish, Phillipa Durkin, Penny Ericson, Susan Flight, Grancy Fu, Kjelsty Hanson, Tim Holman, Lee Houlihan, Chuck Joseph, John Lawrence, Simon Leong, Yi-Ming Lin, Ann McIver, Clare McLean, Matt McLean, Amy Louise Michaels, Michael Michaels, Mark Mitchell, Petra Molloy, Kiya Nancarrow, Cheryl Oliver, John Parker, Richard Parker, Cate Pates, John Jnr Paxie, Jengis Poor, Jo-Anne Raill, Elena Renker, John Roy, Rick Rudd, Margaret Ryley, Sang Sool Shim, Janet Smith, Judi Smith, Katherine Smyth, Fiona Tunnicliffe, Rick Urban, Ann Verdcourt, Helen Yau

This exhibition was generously sponsored by The Trusts.

09 October - 07 December 2008

(Click to enlarge)