Portage Ceramic AWARDS 2012

In year twelve of the Portage Ceramic Awards the exhibition is presented at The Cloud on Queen’s Wharf, Auckland Central. While a move to a new venue was dictated by the prolonged closure of our home gallery for refurbishment and earthquake strengthening, the business of exhibiting at such a prestigious location provides an opportunity to reach a new audience and also to participate in Auckland Art Week. For this reason, as well as the exceptional quality of the works on display, we look forward to a very successful residence at The Cloud.

Premier Award Winner
Jim Cooper: Millbrook Holiday [the league for spritual discovery]

Merit Award Winners
Kate McLean: Double Ended Form, House – Series of 2-4 forms
Fran Maguire: Impulse

Dr. Paul Scott, the jurist for the Portage Ceramic Awards 2012, travelled to New Zealand from Cumbria in the UK to make the selection and to curate the exhibition. An artist, a ceramicist and a printmaker of very high repute Paul is perhaps best known for his research into ceramics and print. Working to prestigious commissions around the world Paul also has a thriving studio practice where he creates individual pieces that blur the boundaries between fine art, craft and design. His work may be seen on his website www.cumbrianblues.com. Besides his incarnation as an artist and a craftsman Paul is also an academic and has recently been appointed as Professor at The Oslo National Academy of the Arts.

Portage Ceramic Awards 2012 finalists: Brendan Adams, Graham Ambrose, Vonney Ball, Sarah Boyle, Madeleine Child, Julie & Peter Collis, Jim Cooper, Phillipa Durkin, Kate Fitzharris, Melissa Ford, Shane Gallagher, Kim Henderson, Fiona Henderson, Corrina Hoseason, Jo Howard, Chuck Joseph, Andy Kingston, Tessa Laird, Fran Maguire, Kate McLean, Lynda McNamara, Judy Newton, Elise O’Neill, Robert Rapson, Vivian Rodríguez, Liz Rowe, Rick Rudd, Margaret Ryley, Charlie Seakins, Amanda Shanley, Duncan Shearer, Sangsool Shim & Keumsun Lee, Nadine Spalter, Sharon Terrizzi, Janna van Hasselt, Ann Verdcourt, Chris Weaver, Helen Yau.

Find an article by Paul Scott about the 2012 winner Jim Cooper’s work here.

Awards Ceremony: Friday 26 October, 6pm

27 October - 03 November 2012

RELATED links:

Portage Past: Previous Winners Exhibition

Exhibition Images:

(Click to enlarge)