Portage Ceramic Awards 2017

As an annual update on the state of ceramic practices in Aotearoa, the Portage Ceramic Awards provides insights on current directions and future possibilities. Established in 2001, the awards are a hallmark event for the New Zealand ceramics community, showcasing some of the best contemporary work, and serving as a platform for dialogue about developments in the ceramics field.

Whanganui-based curator and writer, Emma Bugden, is the 2017 judge and will select finalists and winners for this year’s event, organised and hosted by Te Uru with support from The Trusts Community Foundation.

Congratulations to all 2017 award winners. Richard Stratton’s Forced Turn Teapot wins the 2017 Premier Award, Untitled (Yellow Stack) by Andrea du Chatenier is awarded the Guldagergaard Residency, and Merit Awards go to Milkstock by Cheryl Lucas, Uncut Penetration by John Parker and Colouring In by Amanda Shanley. The winner of the Peoples’ Choice Award is Kiya Nancarrow.

This year’s finalists are: Greg Barron, Owen Bartlett, Blue Black, Tony Bond, Maak Bow, Phil Brooks, Annette Bull, Rachel Carter, Madeleine Child, Peter Collis, Bronwynne Cornish, Ann Crane, Bridgit Day, Andrea du Chatenier, Lang Ea, Kate Fitzharris, Mel Ford, Yasmin Franzmayr-Davis, Grancy Fu, Jacquelyn Greenbank, Kairava Gullatz, Philip Jarvis, Jinho Jeong, Chuck Joseph, Temmina Kuijpers, Peter Lange, Virginia Leonard, Cheryl Lucas, Paul Maseyk, Gaeleen Morley, Kiya Nancarrow, John Parker, Michael Potter, Robert Rapson, Vivian Rodríguez, John Roy, Rick Rudd, Amanda Shanley, Liz Sharek, Duncan Shearer, Janet Smith, Gary Stewart, Richard Stratton, Christine Thacker, Stephan Thomas, Janna van Hasselt, Chris Weaver, Sarah Wigley and Helen Yau.

There will be a free exhibition tour with this year’s judge on Saturday 11 November, 12noon, which is also part of the Auckland Festival of Ceramics’ Ceramic Safari. For other Portage-related information and events, visit the Portage homepage or follow our Facebook page. Visit the Auckland Festival of Ceramics Facebook page for information on further festival events.

Awards night, Thursday 9 November, 6pm

10 November - 11 February 2018

Premier Award winner Richard Stratton, Forced turn Teapot

Residency Award winner Andrea du Chatenier, Untitled (yellow stack)

MERIT AWARD WINNERS (click to enlarge)